Skip to content

13 mile training walk

September 8, 2007

It was another beautiful Saturday morning and the Ladies of Loantaka gathered for an early morning training walk. About a dozen of us started out. Maybe it’s because school started, or maybe because we walked an hour earlier, we were passed by two large hordes of teenagers running cross country. I’d like to know how the coach got them out of bed so early. It has been my experience that it is impossible to wake a teenage before noon. And even then they aren’t fully awake until 2:00 or 3:00 pm. 🙂

We completed the 7.5 mile round trip path in about 2.5 hours. Three of us decided to do a longer walk. We were going to complete 10 miles, but as we walked, we felt good and decided to walk a total of 13 miles. Geri and Brigid are first time walkers. Now having completed the distance of half of Day 1 or all of Day 2 of the Avon Walk, there are even more confident that they will be able to go the entire 39.3 miles.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Brigid Mekita permalink
    September 8, 2007 3:16 pm

    Hi Karen,

    Thank you for all of your help today, I’m not sure that I would have completed it on my own. Walking with others sure does help the miles go by quicker.

    I hope you don’t mind, but I used the Loantaka Ladies picture on my personal page – it may be just what I need to get the last of my donations.

    Thanks again and I will see you in a week or two.

    Brigid

Leave a Reply

