Skip to content

Avon Walk video for opening and closing ceremonies

March 5, 2008

Recently, I received an invitation from Avon Foundation to take part in videos to be shown at opening and closing ceremonies. Over a dozen people were invited. Before going in front of the camera, a make-up artist “did my face”. As I rarely wear make up, it was strange to have all those products on my face. I have to admit, I did look very nice when she was done.

The studio was set up with a white couch where the ladies sat during their time in front of the camera. We were given lines to read and then we were asked to speak to the walkers. That was the hardest part for me because all I saw was the dark lens of the camera. I think public speaking is much easier than speaking to the camera. Playing off the audience’s energy helps immensely. The camera just stares back blankly.

The video will be show at each of the walks this year, so I will be able to see it in Boston in May. I wonder if I will actually make it to the screen, or if my part will be on the cutting room floor 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

