Skip to content

77 Days until the NY walk

July 19, 2008

Training walks going well

Just over 2 months before the walk.  We had 6 people on this morning’s training walk.  It was hot, but we did the 7.6 miles in 2 hours 10 minutes.  That translates in to 17.1 minute/miles.  Not bad considering the heat and humidity.

Maybe it’s time to bring back the double nickle speed limit

On a completely different note, we went to visit my husband’s grandmother in the nursing home today.  It’s a 190 miles round trip.  The traffic was very light and I decided to drive my pickup truck at 59 mph, in the right lane of course.  Usually I drive about 70 mph and in the past I calculated gas mileage at 24 mpg on the trip.  That’s a little better than the rating of 22 for the Toyota Tacoma.  Today, I averaged 30 miles per gallon!

Based on the 21 gallon tank and the 22 mpg rating, if I drive 59 mph, I could go about 170 more miles per tankful.  That translates to saving 5.6 gallons of gas per tankful… at the current national average price of $4.11, I am saving $23.01 per tankful ! ! ! !    Assuming one tank of gas a week, that’s a yearly savings of $1,197 ! ! ! !

I don’t know about you, but I would certainly prefer the money in my pocket instead of the Oil Company’s.  Next time, maybe I’ll try driving 55 mph and see if I can squeeze out a few more miles per gallon.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

