Skip to content

Crochet-a-long: The Moderne jacket

March 22, 2009

The latest project on the Lion Brand Yarn website is a “crochet a long” making the really cute Moderne jacket.  Being new to crochet, I’ve only made the cat toy mice, a child’s blanket and matching hat thus far, this jacket has been very challenging.  The amazing thing about the internet is the virtually communities one can find online.  There is a social networking site for knitters and crocheters called Ravelry.   It’s like Facebook for people who stitch.  I joined last summer and have found it to be an invaluable resource for patterns and instructions.

There is a group of people on Ravelry who are working on the jacket.  From the posts, it seems that I am not the only one experiencing problems.  I have frogged (knitting term for unravel – think rip it, rip it, rip it) four times because the pattern gets wacky on the first set of decreases.

While in NY on Friday, I decided to stop by the Lion Brand Yarn store and see the model jacket.  Mine did not look close to the one on display.  For one thing, the stitches on the model are much larger – have to control tension – both in yarn stitch and me 🙂  I am determined to make this jacket.  It has taught me a lot about crochet and modifying a pattern.

The store was very tastefully decorated.  The front window has a NY theme made completely of  yarn including Mayor Bloomberg, King Kong and the ubiquitous pigeons.   Who knew that the mayor knit?  The door handles leading into the store are covered in orange yarn.  The balls of yarn for sale are displayed in diamond shaped boxes on the wall creating a rainbow of color.  The sales staff was extremely friendly and knowledgeable.

There are ottomans in the back of the store where one can sit and stitch a while.  There were a few people gathered around a table working on a project.  On the counter are the most adorable lion finger puppets.  I asked one of the salesman if there was a pattern available.  He told me they had been found a flea market.  What a shame, they would be great to knit up.   I found pink striped sock yarn which I plan to use for my latest charity project – flip flop socks and short toed socklets.  I have never heard of such a thing, but apparently they are all the rage with the kids.

I looked at the jacket which was on display towards the back of the store.  It definately did not look at all like the one I am working on.  The stitches are much larger on the model jacket.  So I will be ripping mine apart one more time.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

