Skip to content

Flip flop socks – I am so “knot with it”

March 29, 2009
tags:
dsc_7806

Chicken waiting for me to leave so he can play with the yarn

The Knitting Hope group at work has started their spring projects, including a pattern for flip-flop socks.  I have never seen, nor heard of such as thing as a sock to wear with flip-flops.  I thought the whole idea behind flip-flops was to have as much foot exposed as possible.

I am very much looking forward to the first day this year where I can abandon my shoes in place of my flip flops, sans socks.

The socks will be donated to a summer camp for kids with cancer. There are 23 girls who will be going and each one will be given a pair of these socks.   The girls are aged 5 – 17 years.

The pattern can be found online at: http://www.coats.de/PDF/reg_zehenfusslingENG.pdf.   I’m planning on making 3 pairs and my mom is also making a couple of pairs.

They knit up quickly.  It is very similar to the mittens I was knitting during the winter.  The body of the sock is a simple tube knit in the round on four needles.  After completing the required length, its a matter of placing some of the stitches on a holder and continuing the remaining stitches in the round for 6 more rows.  And finally, picking up the stitches from the holder and knitting them for 6 rows.

Revelation:  While typing the above, I mistyped the word knit, replacing the “i” with an “o” resulting in the word knot.  Knitting is nothing more than organized knots.  Coincidence?  Hmmm.

According to the Merriam-Webster dictionary, the etymology of the word knit is Middle English knitten, from Old English cnyttan; akin to Old English cnotta knot.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

