Skip to content

This week’s fundraising tip: Movies for boobies

April 28, 2009

My friend Carrie suggested hosting a movie night at our local cinema.  They will rent out one of the 4 theaters for a reasonable sum and discount the ticket price.  I did some calculations and determined that if I charge $15 a person and get 100 people to show up, I could raise $300 – that’s 3 mammograms for women who otherwise could not afford one !  Now, if I charged $20 a person, I could raise $800, or 8 mammograms !

movieBased on my calculations, if I was able to get 200 people to pay $20 a ticket there would be the possibility of raising almost $2,000.  How cool would that be?!?
In order to develop the best strategy, I posted a survey on my Facebook page.  Fifteen people responded.  I asked 3 questions: Best night during the week to see a movie (rental is less during the week), Best time to start the movie, and How much would you pay.

The results were basically split among the possible choices.

screenhunter_01-apr-28-22051
screenhunter_02-apr-28-2205
screenhunter_04-apr-28-2205

It looks like Monday or Wednesday at 7:00 pm would be good choices.

The more pressing question is how much to charge.  The usual ticket price is $10.50.   A large bucket and large soda  could cost over $7.00.   Which would mean that if one was going to go and watch a movie and buy a snack, one could pay as much as $17.50.

I would  need to purchase the tickets for $8.50, which includes unlimited popcorn and soda and the theater cost $175 to rent.  The survey was split on the price with about half of the respondents willing to pay $15 and the other half $20.  Obviously, I would prefer to charge $20, as the total raised would be significantly more. But, if I charge $15, perhaps there would be more people showing up, and that could raise more money.

Any thoughts from the readers of the blog ?

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 14, 2009 11:24 pm

    Hmmmm…I’m very interested what the outcome of this is…please do let me know! Good luck on the fundraising, it’s hard work, but totally worth it!
    (nonaofsav) on Ravelry

Leave a Reply

