Skip to content

1,900: The number of photos I took at the Boston Avon Walk for Breast Cancer

May 21, 2009

dsc_88251293dsc_88251515dsc_88251293dsc_88250078I had the most wonderful opportunity last weekend.  I was one of the volunteers on the Photo Crew for the Boston Avon Walk for Breast Cancer.   Jane, Linda and I drove up to Boston last Friday. We had volunteered as crew members; Jane was at Quick Stop B – O’Malley’s Pub; Linda was part of the massage therapy team.

We left NJ mid morning.  We encountered some traffic on the Major Deegan and again on the Merritt Parkway, but for the most part the traffic moved smoothly.  We stopped for a late lunch at the Cracker Barrel in Sturbridge.  YUM !

After checking in at the hotel, we went to the Event Eve check in location where I meet with the Photo Team Captain.  My instructions, take as many photos as possible.

Linda and I arrived at Opening Ceremonies bright and early on Saturday morning.  The weather was definitely cooperating, sunny with a mild temps.   We walked around as the walkers were eating breakfast and preparing for the day ahead.  Jeremy loaned me his photographer’s vest, which added an air of authenticity along with the pink and white Photo Crew button pinned on the pocket.  There was just one little problem, Jeremy is a foot taller than me, so I was swimming in the vest.  It was very handy, though.  Everything I needed was conveniently housed in one of the many pockets.

Opening ceremonies  was very moving, with a number of people speaking about how cancer has affected them.  Photos from the ceremony can be viewed here –>http://bit.ly/dAZTu

The Avon Walk Boston was very successful !  Read the entire results here.

  • The Avon Walk Boston raised more than $5.6 million to advance access to care and finding a cure for breast cancer.
  • The Avon Walk Boston was a huge success, with over 2500 participants drawn from 37 states, including 214 breast cancer survivors, who joined together to raise lifesaving funds and awareness for breast cancer.

I am working my way through all the photos.  I have split them into sections, e.g., opening ceremony, day 1 morning, day 1 afternoon, etc.  As I finish editing the photos in a section, I am creating a video montage and posting to my Youtube channel: www.youtube.com/amberstang.  Check back soon as I hope to post more photos and recap of the walk.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

