Skip to content

Closing ceremony Boston Walk 2009

May 23, 2009
screenhunter_03-may-23-2207

This was the second time I attended the closing ceremony for the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer. The first was last year in New York where I had a wonderful vantage point of standing on a park bench to take pictures.  Being “vertically challenged”,  if  not for having the advantage of the bench, I would have had many beautiful shots of the back of peoples’ heads.   I didn’t think it could get better than that.  Was I wrong.

As a member of the Photo Crew,  I had the opportunity to be on stage during the closing ceremony at the Boston walk.   I was able to see the faces of the walkers, crew, and supporters.   The emotions playing across their faces were amazing.   The exuberance of the walkers  as the marched into the ceremony; The solemnness during walker and 4-year breast cancer survivor Hillary Ross’s speech. She provided an emotional reminder of the impact of breast cancer and the importance of taking personal action to make a difference;  The satisfaction of knowing they contributed to the $5.6 million in grants provided to local organizations;  And finally to the spirit of oneness as they clasped hands to signify that together they can make a difference !

The women in the video wearing light pink t-shirts are breast cancer survivors.  People in dark pink are those who walked in Boston this year.  I can’t recall ever seeing so many men walkers at prior events.  There have always been men involved in the walk, but usually as crew members.  It is really wonderful to see them support the women in their lives.  During opening ceremony, one of the speakers told the crowd about a friend of his who has Stage 4 breast cancer.  His friend is a guy.  Yes, men do get breast cancer !

People ask me why I walk, and raise money, and am so involved with the Avon Foundation.  To understand, simply look at the pictures of the youth crew members in their bright yellow sweatshirts.  The tears they shed are for mothers who have died from breast cancer.  One of them said at the evening activity on Saturday, she wishes she could have a hug from her mother.   Need I say more as to why I do this?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Janet Mozolewski permalink
    May 24, 2009 7:04 am

    Karen, I just watched the closing ceremony in Boston and I am sitting here crying my eyes out!! It is beautiful. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Rita Reisman permalink
    May 26, 2009 8:14 am

    Karen, this is amazing! Great photos and energy. I know I’ll be back to watch your video again. Thank you!

  3. Joanne permalink
    May 27, 2009 4:46 pm

    Karen~ I was at the closing ceremony in Boston and your video captured it BEAUTIFULLY!!!!! thank you for sharing your talent with us.

  4. LisaMarie permalink
    June 5, 2009 7:05 pm

    Hi Im LisaMarie Forte from quincy MA. This was my first yr walking and it was an amazing experience. I just got all my pics together and watching your video I am crying because it has brought back so many wonderful and hard things about the weekend. Beautiful Thank YOu. I am going to be walking in NYC myself this yr. Please contact me if you would like to get together and walk.

    Thank YOu
    LisaMarie

Leave a Reply

