Skip to content

“Surely the apple is the noblest of fruits.” — Henry David Thoreau

September 20, 2009
tags: ,

CIMG23555127CIMG2355The internet is full of people ranting and raving against products, services and people.  And yes, I am just as guilty as the next person.  My vitriolic rant about KitchenAid is just one example. So for a change, I offer a positive assessment.

I purchased an iPod Touch last year.  Love it !  I use it almost every day, plugged into my computer at work, in the car, or when I go for walks.  Recently Apple offered an update to the iTouch which enabled the Bluetooth technology.  I purchased Altect Lansing Backbeat headphones and now I never get tangled in the wire.

Recently, I noticed that the battery would completely discharge overnight, even though the iTouch was powered off.  In addition, the music would cut in and out when using the Bluetooth headphones, but not the wired one.  As an extra test of the Bluetooth headphones, I tried them with my cellphone and they worked just fine.

I am very fortunate to have an Apple store close to where I live.  I made an appointment online – the store is usually packed to the rafters with people.  If one was to judge by the purchases at the Apple store on Saturday, one would think the country was in a boom time – not a severe recession.

I only had to wait 20 minutes past my appointment time for the Apple Genius to see me.  The tehnician plugged my iTouch into his computer and ran diagnostics on it.   After about 5 minutes, he told me that the iTouch does have a problem and that he would give me a new one as a replacement.  WHAT?  No arguing that it’s really not broken?  No third degree on how many times I dropped it?  Just like that, I got a brand spanking new shiny iTouch.

The Genius informed me that I was very fortunate to have brought in the iTouch because the warranty had only 8 more days left.  Karma is a wonderful thing 🙂

Apple gets a 5 star rating from me on customer service.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

