Skip to content

Thank you for holding, your call is important to us …

September 23, 2009
tags:

So, I contacted Horizon Blue Cross and Blue Shield of NJ this afternoon to cancel my son’s health insurance policy. After going through the first option tree, with none of the options being “Cancel policy”, I was able to get a live representative on the line.  After giving her all my information, policy number, name, address, phone number, son’s name, address, phone number, she asked how she could help me today.  I told her I would like to cancel the policy.  She informed me that she could not handle that for me, but she would transfer me to billing.

I was treated to a few minutes of  Musac hell,  when I heard the obligatory “Thank you for holding, your call is important to us.  Please stay on the line and the next available representative will be with you shortly” followed by more staticy Musac.  A new message came on stating that “Due to increased call volume, you can press 1 to leave a voice message and a representative would return the call within 24 hours”.  I opted to keep holding a little longer.

After 10 loops of Musac, “Your call is important”, Musac, Health related info, Musac, “Due to increased call volume”, I decided to fold my tent and leave a message.   I pressed “1”.  A recorded message came on stating that “There is insufficient room in the Billing Department voice mailbox to leave a message” followed by CLICK.

Of course, it hasn’t been easy to be an insurance company these days.  Watch this PSA to Protect Insurance Companies: Hollywood speaks out to help insurance companies

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Update Sept. 24, 2009, 12:30 p.m.

Called Horizon Blue Cross and Blue Shield of NJ again today.  Received the same message as yesterday, but at least they cleared out their voice mail and I was able to leave a message.

In addition, I tried using their website to see if I could cancel the insurance.  I attempted to create an account, but received the following message when I clicked the submit button:

We encountered a problem while trying to register your account.
Message Code: 1401
Message: We are currently experiencing technical difficulties. Please try your request at a later time. If you need additional assistance, please contact the eService Helpdesk at 1-888-777-5075 between 7:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. ET, Monday through Friday.

They are really determined not to let me cancel the policy !

Update Sept. 24, 2009, 2:45 p.m.

A representative from Horizon called me back.  I explained that I wanted to cancel the policy and she told me it was simple to do.  Compose a fax stating that I want to cancel the policy and fax it to the company.

Now, you would think for improved customer focus, that information could have been made available on the company website – and not within the portion that requires a log in (if it is even included there as I would not know because I could not access the site).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

