Skip to content

D’oh! I’ve heard of two left feet, but not two right hands

December 22, 2009
tags:

As it was beginning to look a lot like Christmas, what with all the snow that fell this week, I decided to knit myself a pair of mittens.  I had a skein of Cascade 220 Paints, Peruvian Highland wool yarn, in shades of blues and purples which are my favorite colors. I picked up the yarn a year or two ago when a knitting shop in the area went out of business.

I cast on the two mittens using magic loop technique and began knitting the two mittens at the same time. I found that this ensures the two mittens or socks end up the same size.  Apparently, my knitting tension parallels my daily tension and becomes looser when I am relaxed and tighter when I am stressed.  The size of the final pieces can be off by as much as 1/2″, which shows up in socks and mittens.

I knit the mittens over the past few days, finishing the top seam last night.  As I started to prepare to knit the thumbs, I noticed a little problem.  I had knit 2 right hand mittens.  I have enough yarn to make on more mitten, hopefully this time I will remember to make a left hand one.  Or I can frog (rip) one of the mittens back to the thumb and make it a lefty. Decisions, decisions…..

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rick Sanchez permalink
    January 3, 2010 1:44 am

    I am starting a non-profit to benefit walkers and put a spotlight on victims of breast cancer. I need shirts that people make up to wear in tribute to loved ones for the walk, and a short bio explaining the shirt. Lots of them have pictures, etc. Any chance you could be a resource to assist me in soliciting them?
    Thanks
    Rick

    • January 5, 2010 8:26 pm

      I have at least one shirt I can send to you. I will also publicize your request among my Facebook friends who have walked in breast cancer walks.

Leave a Reply

