Skip to content

Don’t expect to loose weight during the Avon Walk

March 23, 2010

One thing I can assure the gentle readers of this blog is that you will not loose weight during the walk weekend.

Snacks are provided at the Rest Stops (Quick Stops provide water and Gatorade).  The Lunch Stop on both days provides sandwiches which can be eaten in the park or packed in a bag to go.  One year, my friend Sheryl and I walked so quickly that we reached the lunch stop by 10 am.  We opted to take lunch with us and stop at the half way point, Mile 13, to eat.  Dinner at the Wellness Village is a stick to your ribs hot meal.  Breakfast on Day 2 gets you ready to start your day; scrambled eggs, sausage, toast, oatmeal and lots of hot coffee are served by smiling crew members.  There is a vegetarian menu available at Lunch, Dinner and Breakfast.

My friend Linda has written her thoughts about the food found along the route.

Linda Miragliotta ~ Crazy as it sounds, I always look forward to the food … especially in New York with the awesome brownies from God’s Love We Deliver! I know they’re calorie-laden, but they are so needed that weekend! I look forward to those chocolate decadent pieces of heaven! I look forward to the pasta and large meatballs at the end of Day 1, the hot chocolate before bed, and the oatmeal and raisins and brown sugar to get me going in the morning on Day 2. Yummy … & I always look forward to what interesting nutritious lunch we get on Day 2 as well … I think we got a delicious lentil salad one year (I think God’s Love packs those up for us also in New York). & I discovered FoodShouldTasteGood MultiGrain Chips at one of the Rest Stops … nom nom nom … tasty crunchy goodness!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

