Skip to content

How many moles are skinned for the Avon Walk?

April 1, 2010

So you have been racking up the miles in training walks, 20 miles a week spread over a few days each week. A couple of 15 mile walks during the month before the Walk. Your shoes and socks are feeling good, no blisters. You’re ready for the Walk. That was me at my first Avon Walk.

By mile 18, I was starting to develop some small blisters. By mile 23, the blisters were getting bigger and bigger. By the time I limped across the 26 mile mark, my feet were a mess. Fortunately, there was ample medical treatment available along the route and at the Wellness Village. There were some volunteer podiatrists in the medical tent and I had one look at my feet. The doctor washed the blisters, lanced the biggest ones, applied antibiotic ointment and put Band-aids over them. She gave me instructions on what to do the following morning. She told me to wash and dry my feet, apply antibiotic ointment and a Band-aid and then cover the area with mole skin! I had been applying the mole skin directly to the blisters earlier in the day. She said this could lead to pulling off the damaged skin as it would stick to the mole skin adhesive. A Band-aid would protect the skin under the mole skin.

Mole skin is actually not made from the skin of moles. Mole skin is a heavy cotton fabric, woven and then sheared to create a short soft pile on one side and an adhesive layer on the other.  Moleskin is used to reduce friction and pressure on hotspots.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

