Skip to content

Easy listening

June 7, 2010



I wanted a clip for my iPod Nano that I could attach to my t-shirt collar when I walk. I find that  the headphone wire gets in the way when I use a belt clip. The clip should be light weight, so that it doesn’t pull the collar. It should provide easy access to the iPod dial.

I decided to see if I could fabricate something. I have some jewelry supplies from my beading hobby (I make earrings and bracelets to sell as fundraisers for the Avon Walk).

I used a 20 gauge silver wire for the frame which I shaped into a long oblong. I bent the wire to create a frame in which the iPod would sit.  I bent the other end of the wire to form a clip which would hang on my collar.  I added a cage of 22 gauge wire to keep the iPod from falling out sideways.

I used it today and it works very well.  To prevent snagging from on the end of the larger wire, I wrapped the smaller wire around the join, creating a smooth surface.  You can click on the images to view a larger photo.

One of the rules on the Avon Walk is no headphones. This is a safety precaution as the route takes the walkers on city streets which are not closed off for the event.  The walkers need to pay attention at all times to traffic and be alert to directions from the safety crew members.

I don’t know about you, but when I walk long distances, I get into a “zone” and stop paying attention to my surroundings. I find the repetition of the walking gait to be very meditative. I get lost in the rhythm and can easily step into a crosswalk without looking.

One of the advantages to my clip is that I can remove the headphones, turn up the volume, and still listen to music.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Veronica permalink
    August 7, 2010 3:51 pm

    I LOVE YOU! I am doing my first walk in October (Charlotte) and have been stressing about what to do without my precious music. Thank you thank you thank you! I misunderstood the rules and thought I could not have it at all. I had no idea it was a headphone issue. They’ll get sweaty anyway :-).

    Thanks for being such a motivator for lurker/walkers.

    • August 7, 2010 7:57 pm

      Thank you for your very kind words. I know my first walk I had a thousand questions. I have seen the walkers with the speakers for their music players. Seems to work well and other walkers get to enjoy the music.

      Charlotte is a beautiful walk through the city and surrounding neighborhoods. I was impressed with how many people decorated their yards in pink and provided water for the walkers.

Leave a Reply

