Skip to content

Update to previous post: Blisters don’t need chemo

July 24, 2010

After letting the blisters on my heels heal for a few days, I went out for a 3 mile training walk.  I used the clear packing tape as recommended on a running forum.  I applied the tape to the shoe’s back area, running the tape from the sole inside all the way to the outside of the sole.

Not sure if it shows up well in the picture. I put the first piece of tape along the middle of the shoe back. Then added a piece, overlapping the first on the left and another piece of tape on the right. Repeated this configuration on the other shoe.

The weather was not very cooperative for a walk this morning. It was 88°F at 8:00 a.m. and 50% humidity with an air quality warning.   I decided to do an abbreviated training walk of just 3 miles.  The taped shoes worked great. There was no rubbing/chafing on my heels.  Of course a longer test will be needed to see if this really works.

Follow-up added July 25, 2010.

Did a 7.5 mile training walk today.  The tape worked great. No blisters, no rubbing.  Every other time I have worn these sneakers, I have had blisters on my heels.  I therefore rate the tip “clear plastic packing tape for blister prevention” as Excellent.

One Comment leave one →
  1. jayme permalink
    July 25, 2010 9:26 pm

    Asics socks are a must, the ones anatomically designed for L and R. Expensive, but worth every penny. Here is a link: http://www.amazon.com/ASICS-Kayano-Quarter-Running-Sock/dp/B002DMKIFU/ref=pd_sbs_a_2

Leave a Reply

