Skip to content

Agony of the feet – continues

July 31, 2010

The last few weeks have not been kind to my feet. The previous years that I trained for the walk, I rarely developed blisters.  Usually, I only got a blister during the actual Avon Walk and it wasn’t until the later miles, 23, 24.

I found a pair of sneakers in the back of my closet; They were hardly worn.  I laced them up and went for a training walk on Friday night.  By 1 mile, my heels were chafing significantly, so I hobbled home.

Apparently, there was a reason I had dumped those sneakers in the back of the closet floor.  They are now in a donation bin waiting to go to a new home.

I took an inventory of my sneaker collection.  As I had not walked last year, I did not buy a new pair of sneakers since the 2008 Walk.  Some of the sneakers have at least 300-400 miles of wear.  Those are the ones that are really comfortable and I wore for most of my training walks, or in the Avon Walk.  According to information from The Walking Site, walking shoes should be replaced every 300 to 500 miles (or every 3 to 6 months).

How can you tell when your sneakers are dead?

  • Sole tread pattern worn down
  • Heel worn more on one side than the other, to the point of leaning
  • Wrinkles in the side or bottom of the sole from breakdown of the support and cushioning
  • Uppers broken down around the ankle

Lots more information about when to replace your sneakers can be found on http://walking.about.com/od/shoechoice/f/replaceshoes.htm

Needless to say, it is time to go and get a new pair of sneakers. Now if this blister would just resolve so I can get back to training.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

