Skip to content

REI. Best.Customer Support.Ever.

April 29, 2011
tags:

Gentle readers  of this blog will know that proper foot care and footwear are important to a successful, blister-free walk.  When I am not training, I like to give my tootsies a breather and wear flip-flops.

Last month, I went to REI and purchased a pair of Chaco Hipthongs.  As a member of REI, I receive a dividend once a year.  As luck would have it, the flip-flops I wanted were on sale for the exact amount of my dividend. Bonus!

With the weather in the Northeast still not suitable for flip-flops and not having gotten my spring pedicure, I put the box in my closet.  Fast forward to end of April.  The weather has turned much warmer.  I found some time after work this week to get a mani-pedi.   Definitely time to pull out the flip-flops. I took the shoe box out of the closet and went to slip on the shoes.

There was a minor problem.  Now, I have been told that I have two left feet when it comes to my dancing ability. But as you can see from the photo, I really do have a left and a right foot.  When I took a closer look at the flip-flops in the box, it was clear that there were two left shoes.

I took the shoes back to REI in hopes that they had a box in the store with two right shoes.  The sales associate looked high and low for the box, but it was no where to be found.  As the shoes were on clearance when I purchased them, there weren’t even any correctly paired shoes left.  I asked if I could purchase a new pair of shoes, paying the difference between the ones I was returning.  Instead he offered to trade me a new pair of shoes for the mismatched ones I had, even though the new ones were not on sale and more than twice the price of what I paid for mine!

Wow! Now that is what I call exceptional customer service.  REI, I salute you!!!  If you are in the market for outdoor gear, please consider shopping at REI.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2011 8:16 am

    Wow! Good for you; makes me want to run down to REI to see what they are stocking.

  2. July 21, 2011 12:18 pm

    Great job in going back. I wonder if the other person who got two rights went back.

Leave a Reply

