Skip to content

Facebook fixes – Use caution when tagging friends in posts

September 21, 2011
tags:

It seems that Facebook has changed the way tags work in posts. In the past, when I tagged a friend in the post, only my friends would see the post. My privacy settings having been set to Friends. I noticed today, that this has changed.  I created a status update and tagged my cat in it.

Notice that the button now shows Friends (+) and hovering over it reveals “Your friends and xxxx’ s friends”.  So not only will my friends see the post, but my cat’s friends will see the post.

You may want to proceed with caution when tagging friends in posts, especially if you are writing snarky remarks about one of your friend’s friends. You have been warned.

Note:  It’s easy to tag a friend in a post.  Type the @ sign and start typing your friend’s name – no spaces between the @ and the name.  The name should be displayed in a list.  Click the name to add it to your post.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 20, 2011 5:46 pm

    Thanks i had been searching for that !

Leave a Reply

