Skip to content

Recipes: Use for over ripe bananas

September 4, 2012
tags:

It always seems that I end up with 2-3 over ripe bananas.   I also had some blueberries that were at risk of becoming garbage fodder in a few days.  I found a recipe on Food.com that sounded easy enough and I had all the ingredients in the house.

Banana Blueberry Oatmeal Bread. http://www.food.com/recipe/banana-blueberry-oatmeal-bread-458339

I made two modification

  • Instead of 2/3 cup sugar, I used 1/3 cup white sugar and 1/3 cup brown sugar.
  • Instead of greasing and flouring the pan, I lined it with parchment paper.

I baked the loaf for an hour.  The knife came out almost dry when I tested for doneness.   If I make the recipe again, I will probably leave it in a little longer, until the knife is completely clean when removed.  It started to brown nicely during the last 10 minutes, so leaving it in the oven an additional 5-10 minutes may have resulted in a more even golder brown color.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

