Skip to content

Knitting chart: Deer hat

November 1, 2014

I am taking a classIMG_20141101_182524 at the local yarn store to learn how to knit Fair Isle patterns. Turns out it’s not so difficult.  I already completed the class project Christmas stocking.

Searching on Ravelry for more Fair Isle charts, I came across a hilarious one with 2 deer. http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/fornicating-deer-chart. 

I created an XLS chart of the pattern (link below). As I am not a designer, I cannot guarantee that the chart is error free. The chart seemed to work fine as I knit the hat pictured.

deer-pattern

This hat was a little more challenging than the 2 color stocking, in that I carried 3 strands of yarn, Red, Green, and White. By the time I finished the deer and trees, I had knit the hat twice. I made a number of errors reading the chart and had to frog back a number of times.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

